05-19-2026, 04:41 AM
When adding annotations, I'm sure we've sometimes wanted to make corrections after the opportunity for undoing a just-added annotation has passed. Or we might wish to make a correction to an annotation that's existed for some time. This requires us to switch to the eraser tool, make corrections, and then switch back to the previous tool (usually the pencil) in order to avoid the eraser accidentally being used the next time we want to add another annotation.
Could we have a feature added to the eraser menu: a single-use mode checkbox? The idea is that when this feature is on, selecting the eraser keeps the tool enabled only as long as the stylus is within range of the screen and editing is enabled. As soon as the stylus retreats and the user-selected timeout for adding annotations passes, annotation mode switches off and the eraser is cancelled, re-enabling the tool previously selected before the eraser was needed.
If "single-use mode" sounds like a confusing name, an alternative would be something like "return to previously selected tool after using".
I like all the existing eraser features and don't want to see those removed; I just think adding this option would be really helpful. I've lost track of how many times I've selected the eraser, erased something, and then had to go through the extra step of re-enabling the pencil or other drawing tool. This new option would be super convenient and smooth out the workflow involved in annotating a score.
Could we have a feature added to the eraser menu: a single-use mode checkbox? The idea is that when this feature is on, selecting the eraser keeps the tool enabled only as long as the stylus is within range of the screen and editing is enabled. As soon as the stylus retreats and the user-selected timeout for adding annotations passes, annotation mode switches off and the eraser is cancelled, re-enabling the tool previously selected before the eraser was needed.
If "single-use mode" sounds like a confusing name, an alternative would be something like "return to previously selected tool after using".
I like all the existing eraser features and don't want to see those removed; I just think adding this option would be really helpful. I've lost track of how many times I've selected the eraser, erased something, and then had to go through the extra step of re-enabling the pencil or other drawing tool. This new option would be super convenient and smooth out the workflow involved in annotating a score.

